Skip to content skip to secondary navigation Top of the page

Doornkop Mine

and events

Company announcements

Celebrating the country’s brilliant young minds

Harmony, proud sponsor of the South African Mathematics Olympiad, hosted some of our country’s top academic performers at the annual Mathematics Olympiad Ceremony in Durban, Saturday 15 October 2005.

The ceremony, a highlight in the school calendar, recognised extraordinary achievement in mathematical proficiency and skills of Grade 8 to 12 students by awarding the top student’s in each category with honorary gold medals.

Two students from Pretoria were selected as the overall winners. Dirk Oosthuizen, a grade 12 student from Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool, was the overall winner of the senior division, with Henry Thackeray , grade 8 student from St Alban's College , receiving top honours in the junior division.

For almost four decades, the South African Mathematics Olympiad has aimed to promote mathematics and associated skills by exposing students and teachers to creative problem solving strategies and techniques. The Olympiad, consisting of a senior division (grade 10 to 12) and junior division (grade 8, 9), is held annually and attracted a record entry of almost 35 000 students from 798 schools throughout the country in 2005.

‘We are proud to be part of one of the country’s established initiatives to empower our youth by promoting mathematics through practical applications and problem solving,’ commented Ferdi Dippenaar, Harmony’s Director of Corporate Affairs. He added that ‘corporate institutions should take more responsibility in securing and supporting these type of initiatives in order to sustain educational programmes amongst our youth’.

The Olympiad is organised by the South African Mathematics Foundation in cooperation with the Association for Mathematics Education of South Africa, the South African Mathematical Society and the ‘SuidAfrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns’ and is sponsored by Harmony Gold Mining Co. Ltd.

South African mathematics Olympiad winners 2005

Junior division (grades 8 and 9)
Alex Backwellgrade 9St Stithians Boys' College
David Beetongrade 9St Stithians Boys' College
Henri Boshoffgrade 9Hoërskool Louis Trichardt
Francois Conradiegrade 8Hoërskool de Kuilen
Koeun Leegrade 8Westerford High School
Tomoya Oginograde 8St. Henry's Marist Brothers College
Morné Standergrade 9Hoërskool Brackenfell
Henry Thackeraygrade 8St Alban's College
Leon van Wykgrade 9Hoërsool Parel Vallei
Anton Vlasovgrade 8Benoni Christian School
Senior division (grades 10 to 12)
Charles Bradshawgrade 11Rondebosch Boys' High School
Dirk-B Coetzeegrade 11Hoërskool Stellenbosch
Simey de Klerkgrade 12Hoërskool Vredendal
Lafras Eksteengrade 12Hoërskool Waterkloof
Eben Marégrade 12Cornwall Hill College
Yumna Moosagrade 12Diocesan College
Dirk Oosthuizengrade 12Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool
Gayle Shergrade 12Reddam House College
Carl Vellergrade 11St John's College
Patricia Wanggrade 11St Mary's DSG (Pretoria)
For more details contact:

Ellie Olivier
South African Mathematics Foundation
Office: +27 12 392 9323
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Vusi Magadana
Harmony – Investor Relations Officer
Office: +27 11 684 0149
Mobile: +27(0)72 157 5986
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Annual report

Integrated annual report 2016
Integrated annual report 2017


Investor brief

Harmony Investor brief, Sep 2017
September 2017 -
Harmony Investor brief

(PDF - 6.5MB)

Register for alerts