Skip to content skip to secondary navigation Top of the page

The Harmony board


The Board

Harmony is governed by a unitary board comprising 14 members: nine of whom are independent non-executive directors, two non-independent non-executive directors and three executive directors.

Given that the group is a South African company, Harmony is highly cognisant of the need for transformation at the highest levels within the company. Three non-executive directors are women, and eight directors are drawn from groups considered to be historically disadvantaged South Africans (HDSAs).

Members of Harmony's board of directors are as follows:

Board of Directors (14)

Non-independent non-executive chairman

  • Patrice Motsepe

Independent non-executive deputy chairman

  • Modise Motloba

Lead independent non-executive director

  • Fikile De Buck (appointed on 13 August 2010 in terms of King III, given the fact that the chairman is not independent)

Deputy lead independent non-executive director

  • Mavuso Msimang

Independent non-executive directors

  • Joaquim Chissano
  • Ken Dicks
  • Karabo Nondumo
  • Vishnu Pillay
  • Dr Simo Lushaba
  • John Wetton

Non-executive director

  • André Wilkens

Executive directors

  • Peter Steenkamp (Chief executive officer)
  • Frank Abbott (Financial director)
  • Harry Ephraim Mashego (Executive director)

Investor brief

Harmony Investor brief, May 2016
Harmony Investor brief -
May/July 2016

(PDF - 1.7MB)

Annual report

Integrated annual report 2016
Integrated annual report 2017


Contact us

Kindly visit the contacts page in this section for a full list of the sustainability contacts at Harmony. Read more

Register for alerts